Information

As a nursery school, we work closely with parents throughout the academic year. Many of our staff , including the head teacher, are working parents. We therefore work hard to ensure that our families have valuable information concerning children’s progress and activities as far in advance as possible. We have attempted to set dates for fixed events as far as possible.

We have made a conscious decision in January 2013, to communicate with our parents electronically rather than using paper. We have discussed this with the parents and children and are committed to reducing our carbon footprint.

Parents will receive weekly updates from class teachers concerning what their children will be doing that week as well as a weekly Newsletter from the headteacher.

Term Dates & Hours

Stepping Stones is organised into 3 terms. Each term has a half-term holiday. Children can attend on a part-time basis (a minimum of 2 sessions a week) from 2 to 3 1/2 years of age.

Academic year 2018 – 2019


Autumn term

Wednesday 5 September – Friday 19 October

Half term

Monday 22 October – Friday 26 October

Monday 29 October – Friday 7 December

Christmas Activity Week

Monday 10 December – Friday 14 December

(additional fees payable)

Spring Term

Tuesday 8 January – Friday15 February

Half term

Monday 18 February – Friday 22 February

Monday 24 February – Friday 29 March

Easter Activity Week

Monday 1 – Friday 5 April inclusive

(additional fees payable)

Summer Term

Wednesday 24 April – Friday 24 May

Bank Holiday: Monday 6 May

Half Term

Monday 27 May – Friday 31 May

Monday 3 June – Friday 12 July

Sumer Activity Week

Monday 15 July – Friday 19 July

(additional fees payable)

Download the Terms dates for Academic Year 2018/19


In the Ladybird and Dragonfly Classes we aim for all children to attend full-time as they need to have access to the full curriculum on offer before they transfer to Primary School.

• Caterpillar Class

  9.00am – 12.00pm

• Butterfly Class

  9.10am – 12.20pm

• Dragonfly Class 

  9.00am – 12.30pm

• Ladybird Class

  9.10am – 12.40pm

EXTENDED DAY PROVISION – BUMBLE BEE CLASS

If parents feel that their child is ready and doesn’t still need a sleep in the afternoon, then they can stay at nursery until 3pm for an extended day provision (see ‘Extra Curricular Activities’). They will need to bring a packed lunch from home and we issue guidelines to parents for ‘Healthy Packed Lunch Options’.

 

Past Students

Moving on to Primary School

We have many years of experience in advising parents about the excellent selection of local independent and state primary schools.

Our parent coffee mornings are also a good opportunity for parents to swap information about schools.

We ‘feed’ to several local highly-regarded private schools, such as Orchard House, Chiswick & Bedford Park, Heathfield House, and Ravenscourt Park Prep.

Many of our children also transfer on to several over-subscribed local state schools, particularly St. Peter’s Church of England Primary School, Larmenier and Sacred Heart Catholic Primary School, John Betts Primary School, St. Stephen’s Church of England Primary School, The Free School and the surrounding Ark Schools.

Party Venue

Stepping Stones is available to hire as a venue for children’s birthday parties or other family events, either after school hours or during weekends.

We have links with several experienced Party Entertainers who have already succesfully held themed parties at the nursery. Please contact the nursery office to check for availability and cost.